When the Wind Takes You, It Takes Me Too

Posted on July 10, 2012

1


I’ve never found it truer in life than right now that you always end up wanting the complete opposite of what you have. I suppose it is the “grass is greener” effect that goes into full force.

The past two years in my life have been relatively uneventful. Only minor little things have taken place. There would be nights I would stay up and wish for a life a little less boring, one a little more eventful.

I think I got my wish. And although I’m not playing a young Mark Wahlberg wishing for my overstuffed teddy bear to come to life, I think there is power in a person’s wish. It can come true.

My life has been anything but uneventful in the past couple months. Things happened that I didn’t anticipate. I got lost in a situation that I’m still working to dig myself out of. Days that go by are just more days to pass the time to get over all the craziness. Sometimes I wonder when I’ll get back to a time that isn’t so eventful, isn’t so crazy. Maybe soon I’ll get to revisit that boring time in my life and be truly thankful for its time and place in my life because it isn’t accompanied with the whirlwind of drama and emotion that this time is filled with.

I guess every part of life has its time and place, and we just have to ride each one out. The best part I’ve discovered about being in the middle of an eventful time–the eye of the hurricane, so to say–is the few people who will ride it out with you. They’re few and far between. And even then, sometimes it’s only a person out of those few people who fully accompany and support you throughout one of life’s storms. Those are the people I look at and hope I emulate. That’s the kind of friend I want to be. Someone who’s willing to be the calm to my crazy, who isn’t afraid to change colors when I’m changing.

There are so many songs and lyrics that come to mind when I’m going through a rough patch, but there’s this one song I’ve posted about before that keeps coming back to me. I love the lyrics; I love the sound of it. Just like the seasons change and time passes, we as people also change, transitioning through the different seasons of life, handling all the situations life throws at us. If you haven’t already, find someone to change colors with you. I’m still looking.

You look at me with uncertainty
You look at me with urgency
You look at me with fear in your eyes
Like you’re about to follow any

Don’t be afraid to change your colors now
Of knowing you are summer, you rose above it all
I see you hesitate to fall down
But it’s pretty good view from down here too

When the wind takes you it takes me too
And when you change colors, I change mine too
Try not to think and I will try too
And when you let go, I will let go too

I knew you when you were green and strong
You were like a feather on a wing, so long
You know I will miss you when you’re gone
But don’t be afraid if you just can’t hang on

‘Cause when the wind takes you it takes me too
And when you change colors, I change mine too
Try not to think and I will try too
And when you let go, I will let go too

The cold air is pushing hard on you
I know what you’re saying, I can feel it too
You’ll go through changes and I’ll go through them too
Don’t be afraid now, no don’t be afraid

‘Cause when the wind takes you it takes me too
And when you change colors, I change mine too
Try not to think and I will try too
And when you let go, I will let go too

Posted in: Uncategorized