Reading My Own Writing (Gag!)

Posted on July 16, 2011

0


There are these moments after I write something, and I feel great. Wow, this is actually really good, I think.

A month later, I’m reading over some blog post I’ve written, and then I’m thinking, seriously? This is crap!

It’s amazing how a good night’s sleep (or several of them) can offer an entirely new perspective. Several of my college English teachers would always say to give a paper a fresh look after a night’s rest. That way, you see new errors you never caught before, or you think of phrases that would better replace choppy, incoherent ones.

I suppose this is one of the reasons I love writing so much. It’s a continuing art that ceases to stay the same for five minutes. One thing might sound good today, but it could sound terrible the next. Writing builds upon itself and demands to be reinvented constantly. This is probably the reason so many people dislike it as well. The feeling of having to keep up can become demanding and feel frustrating at times.

Ultimately, I continue to feel pushed and challenged to top myself, to do better than before, and to write in a way that’s sounds clear and easily understandable, yet complex enough to not bore readers. It’s certainly a challenge, and I respect those writers who push boundaries and demand their audience’s attention.

Give it four, maybe five days. I’ll want to re-write this post. *Wait for it*

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Personal