Changing Colors

Posted on June 15, 2011

1


A Canadian band called the Great Lake Swimmers sings this moving song called “Changing Colors.” The first time I heard it was by Josh Groban (big surprise, huh?), but I was looking for the original singer as well as other versions of it. If you go on iTunes, there’s about 15 different songs entitled “Changing Colors,” none the same as the The Great Lake Swimmer’s version. I listened to it and thought it was just OK. Above is a video of Groban singing it live. It’s disappointing that he doesn’t have a studio version of it, but he does seem to be opening all of his shows on tour with this song. A little odd, seeing that it hasn’t made it on any of his albums. Regardless, I think his version is incredible.

All that to say that I absolutely love the lyrics. Two people are facing change, and there’s fear involved in taking the next step. One person’s afraid to move forward, and the other person is the narration–singing about the willingness to change and move on together.

You look at me with uncertainty,
You look at me with urgency.
You look at me with fear in your eyes
Like you’re about to fall away.

But don’t be afraid to change your colors now.
I’ve known you all Summer, and you rose above it all.
I see you hesitate to fall now,
But it’s a pretty good view from down here, too.

And when the wind takes you, it takes me, too.
When you change colors, I change mine, too.
Try not to think, and I will try to.
When you let go, I will let go, too.

I knew you when you were green and strong.
You were like a feather on a wing, so long.
You know I will miss you when you are gone,
But don’t be afraid if you just can’t hang on.

‘Cause when the wind takes you, it takes me, too.
When you change colors, I change mine, too.
Try not to think and I will try, too.
And when you let go, I will let go, too.

The cold air is pushing hard on you.
I know what you’re saying; I can feel it, too.
You’ll go through changes, and I’ll go through them too.
Don’t be afraid now, don’t be afraid.

‘Cause when the wind takes you, it takes me, too.
When you change colors, I change mine, too.
Try not to think and I will try, too.
And when you let go, I will let go, too

Posted in: Inspiration, Music