A Fangirl’s Thoughts Regarding Josh Groban

Posted on June 1, 2011

0


A Fangirl’s Pet Peeve

Anyone can write a sob story. It’s true. Not all may be able to write one persuasive or heartwarming enough, but we all have it within us to purvey a sense of sadness, to insert a taste of pity in the mouths of our readers or listeners if we know what we’re doing. I’ve read plenty of blog and forum posts, YouTube comments, tweets, and Facebook posts from people who write about how there was an illness in the family or a personal struggle, and that because of Josh Groban himself, that person was able to overcome any and all problems. I just find it a little bit of a stretch.

I’m not trying to minimize music’s powerful influence on our lives, much less one of my favorite singers of all time. But I have to imagine that a lot of these people – namely women – have this disillusioned mindset of becoming over emotionally attached to an artist (it helps that he’s attractive) and allow that emotional attachment to govern their thoughts. Then those thoughts translate into an idea in their mind that makes them feel entitled. I just read a post on Josh Groban’s website from a girl who said Josh Groban was the reason she decided not to commit suicide. I hate to judge, but can I ask – is it really enough to hear “You Are Loved” on the radio one time and then decide that your parents really do love you and are just trying to help you? I’m glad to hear that music influenced someone to stay alive, but maybe instead I should be asking, is music powerful enough to keep someone from killing himself?

Maybe I’m just overly cynical and misunderstand people’s real intent and reason for either acting like obsessively crazed lunatics, or writing dramatic posts about how a person’s song decided their future destiny for them.

Why isn’t it enough to be just a fan, for Pete’s sake?

Enough serious talk. Time for hilarity to ensue.

OK, enough of this analytical rambling. Here are a few hilarious examples of stereotypical Josh Groban fans:

1) The creepy stalkers who have made it their life’s mission to defend him:

2) Those who obsess a little too much over his well-known cover, “You Raise Me Up,” such as the coach Rich Rodriguez attempting to not lose his job (http://www.annarbor.com/sports/um-football/an-emotional-rich-rodriguez-makes-his-case-to-remain-michigans-football-coach/):

“This may seem kind of cheesy or sappy or what have you, but I’ve been listening to it the last few weeks, and it kind of fits the mood of what we’re in right now.”

3) The other end of the You-Raise-Me-Uppers — the ones who have heard and listened to “You Raise Me Up” a thousand times, but couldn’t for the life of themselves name another Josh Groban song, much less even a popular cover (OK, enough of the cynicism . . . )

4) And don’t forget his LITERAL followers, such as the really kind woman and daughter who sat next to me at his concert this year, informing me that this was their 31st show of his they had attended, 27 of which were in the front row (seriously, I’m just wondering, where do these people get the $$ to afford all this?)

Personal Summary from the Fangirl Herself

I’d like to think of myself as somewhere beyond all those other scenarios. The real reason I’m such a Josh Groban fan is that he was the first non-sacred artist that I ever listened to. I grew up in a strict environment where we were allowed to listen to virtually nothing. One day, my sister popped in his self-titled album. The moment I heard the track “Gira Con Me Questa Notte,” at the ripe age of 13, I swore I would have him personally sing it at my wedding some day.

Awake concert

By my freshman year of college, his third album, Awake, had just come out. It was the beginning of my first semester, and I remember really struggling with shyness and getting to know other students. Watching his music video for “You Are Loved”  really encouraged me at the time. Of all the college memories, it’s neat to think how comforting it was to hear music that reminded me of home. By the middle of my second semester, I got to attend his Awake concert, which happened to be my very first concert. Even though we didn’t have the greatest seats, it was pretty awesome when he happened to walk down my aisle singing “In Her Eyes.”

Borders signing, downtown Chicago

Last November, I had the amazing opportunity to meet him for just a few seconds. After requesting the day off (my final of 5 vacation days for the year, mind you), I drove downtown Chicago for the first time on my own, spent $30 on parking, and waited for 3 hours in line just to have him sign my CD pamphlet and tell him that I thought he was hott (yeah, I couldn’t think of anything else better at the time, hahaha). Well, I did include that I was his biggest fan and the rest of the people there were posers. Still not sure whether he believed me or not! I tend to blurt out the strangest things when I’m nervous. Even so, I got a hug out of the whole deal, so I definitely think it was worth it : )

Straight to You concert

This past weekend, I got to attend his Moline concert in central Illinois. There were so many funny moments and cool memories made. Some day, I hope to tell him in person what an inspiration his music has been in my life. But second row seats will suffice for now, haha.

And at the end of the day, that’s why I’m such a fan – because Josh Groban’s music is home for me. For most of my fellow Christian college students, he was just an artist that was considered “checkable” on the short list of music we were allowed to listen to. For my former youth pastor, Josh Groban was the evil guy who sang about a song involving sex before marriage (“Broken Vow”), and to this day I thought that idea was ridiculous. (Because, really, that’s just not what the song is about!) For the girl in my junior English class in high school, Groban was the singer with the big nose who had too much vibrato in his voice. My college friends always treated me like I was crazy. They didn’t understand.

The Entire “Why” of This Post That Took Eternity to Get to

It’s somebody or something different for everybody. But for me, Josh Groban’s music is a little piece of home. It has nothing to do with some kind of crazed obsession or deep emotional attachment to a person that I’ve shared less than a few sentences with. He has an incredible instrument and sings powerful lyrics. After all, when a person’s goal is to share their expression of art, a piece of their hearts with others, and successfully do so, can they ask for anything more in return?

Thanks, Josh Groban.

