What I’m Listening To

Posted on April 14, 2011

0


I love when I’m able to branch out and listen to new genres of music I never would have considered in the past.  Music is constantly evolving, and so is my taste in it. I’m always looking for something new to listen to. Here’s what makes my current favorites list:

  •  Katie Melua – “No Fear of Heights”
I found this song in an iTunes review listed under the film soundtrack for the movie The Tourist. I really loved the score, and someone early on commented that this song was used in the film. Even after listening to it several times, I still don’t recall it in the film, but I can’t seem to stop listening to it. I’m such a huge fan of the lyrics and think the song is just beautiful. ‘Nuff said there.
  • David Garrett – “Smooth Criminal”
Obviously this song isn’t an original. But the arrangement is fantastic. One of my high school friends introduced me to Garrett, and it was love at first listen. I know, I know, it sounds so cheesy, but I was immediately a fan once I heard his self-titled album. I watched him perform on a PBS special and tried to order tickets to one of his concerts. Unfortunately, a concert didn’t work out. Either way, this is one of my favorite arrangements of his. Definitely worth a listen AND a watch.
  • Rachel Yamagata – “Jesus Was a Crossmaker”
I have heard this covered by at least three different artists, but Yamagata’s has been my favorite throughout. I’ve been a big fan of Cameron Crowe’s film Elizabethtown. I’ve owned the score by Nancy Wilson for ages, but I recently purchased the two-volume soundtrack a few months ago. Out of all the AMAZING music on the two volumes, this song might have stuck out the most for me. It’s originally done by The Hollies. I don’t know what it is about it, but I really love it and think Yamagata does an excellent job.
  • Vega Choir – “Creep”
The very first time this song was released by this group was in The Social Network‘s theatrical trailer. I was so impressed with the trailer, and I felt like it had such a deeper effect on viewers because of this eerily fitting background song to accompany the trailer’s scenes. “Creep” is a Radiohead original, which is also a GREAT version. But the idea of children singing this song really furthers the impact, I think. Note: Before listening, be aware that there is some language.
Other AWESOME songs that I’m not including the video with:
  • “Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want” by The Smiths
  • “Same in Any Language” by I Nine
  • “Good Girl, Bad Boy” by Junior Senior
  • “Adagio in D Minor” (on multiple film soundtracks, known originally on Sunshine and most recently on The Adjustment Bureau‘s theatrical trailer
  • “Uncharted” by Sara Bareilles
  • “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead” by Stars
Enjoy! I know I am.
