Publishing the Unfinished

Posted on October 22, 2010

4


 

Via Google Images

 

It’s amazing how many times I start things only to never finish them. Most of the time, I have an “all or nothing” motto on life. I like eating EVERYTHING on my plate, or none of it. I like getting all three loads of my laundry done at once, or do it another night. I like cleaning my room all in one day, or put it off til the next time.

And, of course, my “all or nothing” trend treads deeply in my writing habits, such as posts for this blog. I get these “great ideas,” type about 3 lines, and then quit. Now I’m asking myself: why? Why do I quit, never planning to finish the tasks I set out to do? Why must I always do it all at once, or not at all?

So as I’m asking myself these questions, I made a decision: I’m going to publish a few of the posts I started, never intending to finish them. Only this time around, I asked myself, “Why not?”

“Playing the Game”

Do you like playing the game? I know I don’t.

Ya know what game I’m talking about, right? The game where you’re always choosing. You’re choosing between family, between friends, between jobs, between family and a job, between friends and family, between passion and roots, between what’s familiar and what’s not, between realism and idealism.

It’s exhausting, just thinking about it. There are so many perspectives out there, so many guidelines, thought processes, ideas of what you should or shouldn’t do.

This time around, seeing Wallstreet: Money Never Sleeps sparked the thought.


“No I’m Not Really OK”

“Are you okay?”

“Are you sure?”

“You don’t look too good.”

I love that people care enough to ask. Heck, I even respect it. But what am I supposed to do when they don’t get the answer they want?

“No, I’m not OK, leave me the freak alone!”

“Do I look OK? Yes, that is rhetorical!!”

“Yes, I’m doing just great. I got in a car accident today and we put down my dog – of 12 years. I am doing just DANDY!”

Yeah, it’s true. Both of those things did happen today. And I’m here to say that “No, I’m not really OK . . . right now.”


Untitled

We treat the symptoms, hoping that somehow the pain will disintegrate into air that we never have to breathe again.

If only it were that simple.

I’m talking about problems, and how we set out to fix them. In speaking on the topic of problems, I realize that every person can relate–every person understands to a degree, because every person is pretty knowledgeable in the art of problems.

And some of you? You’re probably pros.


Untitled

Eight–no, actually seven minutes ’til midnight. I just finished a cool glass of water that (I believe) just lowered my body temperature enough to convince me that I’m no longer holding a fever.

Why are we constantly running towards the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow? I’m beginning to wonder how wonderful that gold would be if we ever found it.

I know everyone says that your dreams have no limitations, but that’s simply not reality.


Obviously, this doesn’t really mean much to other people. But I thought, what the heck? Maybe some things do deserve face time–even if they are unfinished.

 




 

Posted in: Personal, Random