I Think I’ve Caught the Lois Lane Fever

Posted on September 21, 2010

2


Lois Lane

Image via Wikipedia

I just finished watching the 9th season of Smallville on DVD. The 10th and FINAL season is premiering this Friday, and I wanted to be ready for it!

I’ve been watching the show since I was in junior high. Now I’m out of college. While most (or maybe all of them?) of my friends think I’m crazy for watching the sci-fi/Superman complex show because they think it’s either cheesy, lame, ran too long, etc., I don’t really care. I’m a fanatic. It’s the one show I’ve been able to stay true to since I was 13 years old. Now I’m 22. Don’t know many people who can say they’ve been loyal fans for that long! I guess it helps that my sister is right there with me, taking it all in.

But back to the point of this: a higher calling. I can’t help but think about it when I watch Smallville, especially the previous season. Lois Lane’s character is stuck between wanting to be with Clark Kent, but desiring this higher calling, this impulse to do better and greater things with her life when she’s teaming up with The Blur. I was actually surprised at the fantastic job the Smallville writers did this season. While I was expecting Smallville to continue its downward plunge since Michael Rosenbaum, Kristin Kreuk, John Glover, and others left the main cast, the writers certainly did make up for the lack of main characters.

And I can’t help but think that this well-written character for the series brings out that desire in viewer: a desire to do great things with one’s life. See, Lois Lane is great because first, the audience is able to relate with her. She doesn’t have a super power, she’s not a genius, and at times, she can get pretty obnoxious. She’s hilarious. And she’s also experienced heartbreak, which makes her even more relatable. Lois is a character with flaws, and we applaud her for her obstinate ways and get-out-of-my-way attitude. How can we not? But Lois is also great because the writers have created her in a way that shows her developing and growing into this person that not only wants it all, but also desires to be a part of something greater than herself.

Time for a little bunny trail.

It’s funny, because I find myself at this point–or maybe a little behind it. Currently, I get so frustrated with the surrounding people. I’m not really picking out anyone in particular, but it’s as if there’s this circle of UN-ambition surrounding me. I love the people around me, don’t get me wrong. I love my family, friends, coworkers, etc. But what I don’t love is (some, not all) the lack of ambition–the lack of desire to do something great in life. And I don’t mean that living a quiet, normal life with family and friends in the suburbs ISN’T great. What I do mean is that I’ve seen people lose heart. I’m watching people lose their taste for adventure. I really don’t believe that heroes are unreachable, idealistic images. Obviously, I don’t think that everyone needs to be wearing a cape and flashing a big, red “S” across their chests.

But what about leaving the normal behind? What about taking the job that might not pay as much, but helps other people? What about living for something more than ourselves and our families?

No worries, I’m not gonna go Jerry Maguire on you.

I just have to wonder if other people my age really feel inclined to do something more with their lives than live it for themselves–to live in the moment, to live for the moment, to live in a way where they’re always waiting for something to happen to them.

I’m tired of living life by waiting. While patience is something I’ve yet to master (and will be working on the rest of my life), I think too often we wait for life to happen to us instead of going out and “grabbing it by the disco balls,” as I heard someone say it once.

Eh, maybe I’ve just caught the Lois Lane fever.

Oh, and I’m not planning on it wearing off anytime soon.

